back to top
Jammu KashmirAll nominations found valid, 2 BJP nominees set to get elected unopposed

All nominations found valid, 2 BJP nominees set to get elected unopposed


Biennial LC elections:

All nominations found valid, 2 BJP nominees set to get elected unopposed


Tawi. March 30:  The nomination papers of eight candidates for Biennial elections to the Jammu and Legislative Council were today found valid after scrutiny.


With this exercise, two candidates from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are all set to get elected unopposed to the Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council.

Returning Officer Mohammad Ramzan scrutinised the nomination papers in presence of the candidates, an official spokesman said.


Yesterday eight candidates had filed their nominations for elections to six seats of the Legislative Council which will fall vacant following the retirement of six members of the Upper House on April 19.


The candidates who filed their nominations include PDP candidates Abdul Qayoom Dar (Jammu Province) and Yasir Reshi (Kashmir Province), BJP candidates Vikram Randhawa (Jammu Province) Pradeep Sharma, (District Poonch), Girdhari Lal Raina and Ashok Kumar Bhat (Kashmir Province), and Conference candidate Aga Syed Mehmood (Kashmir Province) and Congress candidate Thakur Balbir Singh (Jammu Province).


The last date for withdrawal of names is April 3, and the election, if necessary, will be held on April 17


BJP General Secretary in Jammu and Kashmir Ram Madhav said, “we fielded Ajay Bhat as a covering candidate for Raina as the latter is a government employee.”

“On the reserved seat of Poonch, Pradeep Sharma of BJP is the lone candidate as no other party has fielded its nominee on the seat,” he added.

The Election Commission will hold polls to six seats of Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council on April 17.

Votings will be from 9.00 AM to 4.00 PM.

“The counting will be held on the same day. The formal notification in this regard would be issued on March 22,” CEO J&K Shantmanu said.

As many as 87 elected and two nominated members of legislative assembly (MLA) will take part in polling through open ballot.


Six seats of legislative council shall fall vacant on April 19 due to retirement of Jehangir Hussain Mir, Jugal Kishore, Dr Bashir Ahmad Shah Veeri, Master Noor Hussain, S Dharambir Singh Oberoi (deceased) and Yasir Reshi.


The Northlines is an independent source on the Web for news, facts and figures relating to Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh and its neighbourhood.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this

J&K | LG Sinha Attends Utthan Foundation’s Symposium On Sanatan Culture

Ghazipur (UP) Apr 24: Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha today...

Jammu And Kashmir | VPN Services Suspended In Rajouri District

Rajouri, Apr 24: VPN Services Suspended In Rajouri District

Restrictions Imposed Ahead Of Lok Sabha General Elections In Jammu

Jammu, Apr 24: Restrictions Imposed Ahead Of Lok Sabha...