back to top
IndiaLok Sabha Elections Phase 4: Voting Begins for 96 Seats In 9...

Lok Sabha Elections Phase 4: Voting Begins for 96 Seats In 9 States, 1 UT


New Delhi, May 13: Voting for the fourth phase of the in 96 Parliamentary Constituencies across nine states and one Union Territory began on Monday at 7:00 am.

Polling for all 175 seats of the State Legislative Assembly of Andhra Pradesh and 28 seats of the State Legislative Assembly of Odisha also started simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls.

Of the 96 Lok Sabha seats, 25 are from Andhra Pradesh, 17 from Telangana, 13 from Uttar Pradesh, 11 from Maharashtra, eight each from Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, five from Bihar, four each from Jharkhand and Odisha, and one from and .
“A total of 1,717 candidates from 10 States/UTs will contest elections in phase 4 of the Lok Sabha polls,” the Election Commission of India said.
According to the poll body, a total of 4,264 nominations were filed for 96 parliamentary constituencies.
The Election Commission further stated that the maximum number of nomination forms were received from Telangana (1488) followed by Andhra Pradesh with 1103 nominations from 25 constituencies.
Malkajgiri Parliamentary Constituency in Telangana received a maximum of 177 nomination forms, followed by 13-Nalgonda and 14-Bhongir in the same state with 114 nomination forms in each.
The fourth phase is witnessing key contests in various constituencies. Leaders such as AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, West Bengal Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, TMC leader Mahua Moitra, BJP leader Giriraj Singh, JDU's Rajiv Ranjan Singh (Lalan Singh), TMC leaders Shatrughan Sinha and Yusuf Pathan.
BJP leaders Arjun Munda and Madhavi Latha, and Andhra Pradesh Congress Chief YS Sharmila are also looking for electoral success.
Baharampur, Hyderabad, Krishnanagar, Begusarai, Munger, Srinagar, Asansol, Kannauj, Kadapa, and Khunti are some of the prominent Lok Sabha seats where voting is underway.
The Election Commission on Sunday informed that polling time in certain assembly segments of 17 Parliamentary Constituencies of Telangana was increased by the Commission (from 7 am to 6 pm) to increase voters' participation.
As per the IMD forecast, there is no significant concern regarding the hot conditions for the polling in phase 4.
“The weather forecast indicates that the Parliamentary Constituencies going for polls are likely to experience normal to below normal temperatures (+-2 degrees) and there will be no heat wave-like conditions in these areas on the polling day. However, for the convenience of voters, meticulous arrangements have been made at all polling stations, including facilities like water, shamiyana and fans,” the Election Commission said.
So far, till phase 3 of the Lok Sabha polls, polling has concluded smoothly and peacefully in 283 Lok Sabha seats.

The Northlines is an independent source on the Web for news, facts and figures relating to Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh and its neighbourhood.

Share post:


More like this

Rameshwaram Cafe blast in Bengaluru: NIA raids 11 locations in four states

New Delhi, May 21: The National Investigation Agency (NIA)...

Domestic air traffic rises to 1.32 crore in April

New Delhi, May 21:  Domestic air passenger traffic rose by...

Pak-based handler was to give location, time of attack: Suspected IS terrorists tell investigators

Ahmedabad, May 21: Four suspected terrorists arrested here have...

No sign of respite from sweltering heat in swathes of India

New Delhi, May 21: A blistering heat wave swept...