back to top
Jammu KashmirLS Elections 2024: Anantnag-Rajouri Seat Records Nearly 9% Voter Turnout In First...

LS Elections 2024: Anantnag-Rajouri Seat Records Nearly 9% Voter Turnout In First 2 Hours


Srinagar/Anantnag, May 25: An estimated 8.98 percent of 18.36 lakh voters exercised their franchise during the first two hours of polling for the prestigious Anantnag-Rajouri Parliamentary seat on Saturday during the sixth phase of .

The highest 12.52 percent votes were polled at Nowshera segment followed by 11.98 Poonch Haveli, 11.32 Thanna Mandi and 11.10 percent Mendhar in Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat till 9 am, an official spokesman said.
The lowest voter turnout was recorded at 5.31 percent in Kulgam segment followed by 6 percent in Anantnag.
Similarly, Anantnag West recorded 6.79 percent, Budhal (10.81), D H Pora (8.11), Devsar (8.11), Dooru (8.40), Kokernag (10.31), Pahalgam (10.98), Rajouri 9 percent, Shangus (7.03), Srigufawara (6.04), Surankot (7.30) and Zainapora 8.35 percent during the first two hours.
The voting in 2,338 polling stations across the Anantnag- Rajouri Parliamentary Constituency began at 7 am and will close at 6 pm.
The 2024 Lok Sabha elections are the first major polls in  and since the abrogation of Article 370 in August 2019.
As many as 20 candidates are contesting from the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency and prominent among them are Peoples Democratic Party, President Mahbooba Mufti, Conference influential Gujjar leader Main Alta, Apni Party's Zafar Manhas and Democratic Progress Azad Party Mohammad Saleem.
The BJP has not fielded any candidate from the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat, saying the party was in no hurry to see the lotus bloom in Kashmir, the party has given tacit support to Apni Party's Manhas, who is a Pahari.
The Anantnag-Rajouri parliamentary constituency comprises 18 assembly segments, spanning across the Kashmir and  Jammu regions. The constituency is divided into 11 segments in Shopian, Kulgam, and Anantnag districts of South Kashmir, and 7 segments in Poonch and Rajouri districts of  Jammu, bridging the Pir Panjal range.
Before 2019 South Kashmir formed a single parliamentary constituency, while Rajouri and Poonch districts were part of the Jammu Lok Sabha seat. However, following delimitation, the Anantnag-Rajouri seat was created, combining 7 assembly segments from Jammu division and 11 from Kashmir division.

The Northlines is an independent source on the Web for news, facts and figures relating to Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh and its neighbourhood.

Share post:


More like this

Karan Singh Praises Omar Abdullah As Potential Parliament Game-Changer!

SRINAGAR, June 23: Veteran Congress leader Karan Singh said...

Taxpayers can amend sales return form before GST payment

NEW DELHI, June 23: GST taxpayers will now have...

LS Session: Controversy Over Mahtab’s Pro-Tem Speaker Appointment

NEW DELHI, June 23:  The first session of the...

Bajrang Faces Suspension: What Prompted NADA’s Action This Time?

New Delhi, Jun 23: The National Anti-Doping Agency on...