back to top
Jammu KashmirAzad retreats, will not contest from Anantnag-Rajouri seat

Azad retreats, will not contest from Anantnag-Rajouri seat


Srinagar, Apr 17: Democratic Progressive Azad Party (DPAP) chairman Ghulam Nabi Azad will not contest the from Anantnag-Rajouri seat in and , his party said on Wednesday.

DPAP's provincial president, Kashmir, Mohammad Amin Bhat said the party has now decided to field its leader Mohammad Saleem Parray from the seat.

PDP president Mehbooba Mufti and Conference senior leader Mian Altaf are contesting from the Anantnag-Rajouri parliamentary seat.

“Azad will not contest the elections (from Anantnag-Rajouri seat),” Bhat told reporters in Anantnag.

“A meeting took place with Azad and it was decided that advocate Saleem Parray will be the DPAP candidate for the Anantnag-Rajouri seat,” he added.

The DPAP leader said Azad has some reasons not to contest — without divulging those reasons.

“He gave some reasons (in the meeting) and then we took a decision on fielding Parray from the seat,” Bhat said.

On April 2, the DPAP announced that Azad will contest from the Anantnag-Rajouri seat.

“Today the core committee of DPAP met and we have decided that (Party President) Ghulam Nabi Azad will contest the Anantnag-Rajouri seat,” DPAP leader Taj Mohiuddin had said.

The Northlines is an independent source on the Web for news, facts and figures relating to Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh and its neighbourhood.

Share post:


More like this

Amidst Heat Wave, Centre spotlights J&K under ‘Cool Summers of India’ campaign

Srinagar, May 22: With heat wave prevailing in almost...

Jammu seethes at 42°C as heat wave intensifies across J&K

Jammu Tawi, May 22: Jammu is seething at 42...

Naib Tehsildar gets clean chit

Jammu Tawi, May 22: After completion of the Regular...

Panel to review restrictions on new plant protection chemical units

Jammu Tawi, May 22: The  Jammu and Kashmir Government...