back to top
IndiaWest Bengal to see TMC, BJP &Congress-Left fight on May 7

West Bengal to see TMC, BJP &Congress-Left fight on May 7


The four constituencies of Malda South, Malda North, Jangipur and Murshidabad are all geared up to go to polls on May 7 and considered the Congress bastion. The Malda North constituency of West Bengal will witness a three-cornered contest with the Congress-Left Front alliance, BJP and the TMC locking horns. The constituency, once a stronghold of the Congress, has seen the emergence of the BJP and the Trinamool Congress over the past decade. BJP MP Khagen Murmu has been pitted against TMC's former IPS officer Prasun Banerjee. Congress has fielded Mostaque Alam. On the other hand, Malda South seat involves an interesting electoral contest with Raihan representing the Trinamool, Sreerupa Mitra Chowdhury for the BJP and Congress' Isha Khan Chowdhury defending the seat. Chowdhury's father, Abu Hasem Khan Chowdhury, represented the seat over the past five years. While the Congress won it in 2019, Trinamool swept the region in the 2021 Assembly elections. While a majority of the voters in the constituency are Muslims, a split in their vote may help the BJP to give an extra edge over the Congress and TMC. Meanwhile, Trinamool Congress leader Abhishek Banerjee has alleged that the Congress leadership in Bengal had foiled the bloc alliance in the state and termed the party as ‘vote katua' (vote cutters) in Malda, a district where Trinamool had never won in any Lok Sabha polls. The Murshidabad seat will be contested by CPI(M) state secretary Mohd Salim, Trinamool's sitting MP Abu Taher Khan and BJP's Gouri Shankar Ghosh. Although Congress has thrown their weight behind CPI(M) , Congress leader Adhir Chowdhury campaigning for CPM is facing tough challenge from BJP in Murshidabad because BJP is trying to consolidate Hindu vote. In Jangipur seat, a three-cornered contest is expected among the Congress-Left Front alliance, BJP and the TMC. In 2019, the seat was won by the Trinamool Congress and local businessman Khallilur Rahman. He is re-contesting this time. BJP's DhanahjayGhosh and Congress' Mortazza Hossain are also in the race.

The Northlines is an independent source on the Web for news, facts and figures relating to Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh and its neighbourhood.

Share post:


More like this

Rameshwaram Cafe blast in Bengaluru: NIA raids 11 locations in four states

New Delhi, May 21: The National Investigation Agency (NIA)...

Domestic air traffic rises to 1.32 crore in April

New Delhi, May 21:  Domestic air passenger traffic rose by...

Pak-based handler was to give location, time of attack: Suspected IS terrorists tell investigators

Ahmedabad, May 21: Four suspected terrorists arrested here have...

No sign of respite from sweltering heat in swathes of India

New Delhi, May 21: A blistering heat wave swept...