back to top
IndiaNumber of women ministers in Modi government comes down from 10 to...

Number of women ministers in Modi government comes down from 10 to 7


New Delhi, Jun 10: PM Narendra Modi's new council of ministers has seven women as against 10 which the outgoing council had.

Among the seven ministers sworn in on Sunday are Nirmala Sitharaman and Annapurna Devi in the Union Cabinet and the rest as Ministers of State.

Among those dropped as ministers are Smriti Irani, Meenakshi Lekhi, Bharti Pawar, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Darshana Jardosh and Pratima Bhoumik.

Ministers of state to be retained on Sunday are Shobha Karandlaje from Karnataka and Anupriya Patel of Apna Dal from UP.

Raksha Khadse, Savitri Thakur and Nimuben Bambhaniya are the new ministers of state.

Irani and Pawar lost the polls from Amethi and Dandori (Maharashtra), respectively.

Darshana Jardosh, Lekhi and Bhoumik were dropped by the BJP.

Annapurna Devi, Karandlaje, Khadse and Patel won their respective Lok Sabha segments this time.

Overall 74 women won the 2024 general election as against 78 in 2019.

PM Modi's first term in 2014 had eight women ministers.

In the second term, the PM had inducted six women into his council. By the time of the end of 18th Lok Sabha, this number had increased to 10.

The Northlines is an independent source on the Web for news, facts and figures relating to Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh and its neighbourhood.

Share post:


More like this

LG Sinha Takes Charge: Leads Security and Development Meeting

Reviews preparations for Shri Amarnath Ji Yatra Jammu, June...

Intention Of Centre To Levy GST On Petrol, Diesel; States Will Have To Decide On Rate: FM

NEW DELHI, June 22: Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on...

Four Junior Staff Nurses Suspended In J&K’s Ramban

JAMMU, June 22: The Medical Superintendent of District Hospital...

Dramatic Showdown Along LoC Ends in Victory, Terrorists Routed

JAMMU, June 22: Two terrorists were believed to be...