back to top
    Breaking NewsIndia wins T20 World Cup’24, routs South Africa by 7 runs

    India wins T20 World Cup’24, routs South Africa by 7 runs


    shocked South Africa on Saturday by winning by seven runs at the Kensington Oval in Barbados to win their second ICC T20 Cup.
    The Proteas from South Africa after being asked to bowl, had taken three wickets in the Power play, including of Captain Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, and Suryakumar Yadav, But India rallied, led by Axar Patel and Virat Kohli, who put up the biggest partnership of any Indian duo in a final: 72 runs for the fourth wicket.
    Axar Patel was dismissed following a rapid fire 47, but Kohli achieved the second-slowest half-century among Indians with 48 balls before ending at 76. Despite this, India managed to produce a competitive 176/7, which is the greatest first-inning total in a final in nine different editions.

    After losing the fourth wicket to reach 106, South Africa's pursuit became more difficult, but Heinrich Klaasen, batting at number five, scored the fastest half-century in history with 23 balls, propelling the side closer to the goal.
    When Hardik Pandya dismissed Klaasen on 53 with just four runs conceded, India staged a dramatic reversal in the 17th over. Following up, Jasprit Bumrah produced an enthralling over in which he cleaned up Marco Jansen for just two runs, leaving South Africa down by twenty runs. After giving up four runs in a perfect over, Arshdeep Singh bowled the last over, leaving South Africa needing 16 runs to win.

    Pandya landed the decisive blow with the first delivery of the over, dismissing David Miller on the back of Suryakumar Yadav's incredible catch at the long-off boundary. While Kagiso Rabada managed a four and a single off the next three deliveries, Hardik held his nerve and dismissed the left-hander off the penultimate to seal India's epochal win in Bridgetown.

    This is India's first title since their ICC Champions Trophy win in 2013 and their second trophy since edging Pakistan by five runs in the inaugural final in Johannesburg in 2007.

    India skipper Rohit also became the first captain to win 50 men's T20Is, appearing in his second T20 World Cup as the skipper of the side. Rohit had previously led India to the World Test Championship final and the ODI World Cup final in 2023, finishing runner-up behind Australia on both occasions.

    The Northlines is an independent source on the Web for news, facts and figures relating to Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh and its neighbourhood.

    Share post:


    More like this

    Ensure Security Arrangements For Peaceful Conduct Of Muhurram Events In Kashmir : IGP

    SRINAGAR, Jul 13: Kashmir Inspector General of Police V...

    PM Modi says 8 crore jobs created in last 3-4 years

    MUMBAI, July 13: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday...

    Advisor Bhatnagar Addresses 3rd Northern Regional Council Meeting Of CCI At Srinagar

    SRINAGAR, July 13: Advisor to Lieutenant Governor, Rajeev Rai...

    CS reviews Tourism Development Authorities; Asks to initiate strict action against violations

    SRINAGAR, July 13: Chief Secretary, Atal Dulloo, today held...