back to top
JammuEnjoying Govt Accommodations by the Blue-eyed politicians!

Enjoying Govt Accommodations by the Blue-eyed politicians!


List of personal houses of 48 politicians filed in High Court

In a well reported PIL 17/2020) titled ‘Prof. S.K. Bhalla V/s Union Territory of J&K & Ors' seeking eviction of ex-Legislators from Ministerial Bunglows in / Srinagar cities, Advocate Sheikh Shakeel Ahmed- the Counsel for the petitioner has filed the list of the personal properties/houses of the 48 Politicians (ex-Legislators/Political Persons) in Jammu/. In compliance to what the Division Bench had directed, the Counsel today furnished a list of those persons who possess houses in Jammu or in Kashmir to the status report filed on 28th March, 2023, within the meaning of Regulation 5 of J&K Estates Department (Allotment of Govt. Accommodation) Regulations, 2004.

The list contained complete details of the residential houses owned/possessed by the 48 Politicians in Jammu/Kashmir that included the names of Ghulam Nabi  Azad (Former C.M.), Shamsher Singh Manhas (Ex-MP), Muzaffar Hussain Beigh (Ex-MP), Chander Mohan Gupta (Former Mayor, JMC), Kavinder Gupta (Former Deputy Chief Minister), Sunil Sharma (Former Minister), Ravinder Raina (State President,BJP), G.M. Saroori (Ex-MLA), Neelam Langeh (Ex-MLA), Daleep Singh Parihar (Ex-MLA), Sheikh Ishfaq Jabbar (Ex-MLA), Bali Bhagat (Former Minister), Sat Sharma (Former Minister), R.S. Pathania (Ex-MLA), Family of Late Sh. Rajesh Gupta (Ex-MLA), Molvi Imran Raza Ansari (Former Minister), Ravinder Sharma (Ex-MLC/Spokesperson JKPCC), Vibodh Gupta (Ex-MLC), Pardeep Sharma(Ex-MLC), Tariq Ahmed Keen (Political Person), Wazira Begum (Political Person), Shilpi Verma (Political Person), Shafiq Mir (Chairman, Panchayat Conference), Hakeem Mohammad Yasin (Ex-MLA), Sajjad Gani Lone (Ex-MLA), M.Y. Tarigami (Ex-MLA), Abdul Rahim Rather (Ex-MLA), Sofi Yousuf (Ex-MLC), Abdul Majid Padder (Ex-MLA), Zafar Iqbal Manhas (Ex-MLC), Nizam-u-Din Bhat (Ex-Vice Chairperson), Fayaz Ahmed Mir (Ex-MP), Abdul Gani Vakil (Ex-MLC), Surinder Ambardar (Ex-MLC), Sona Ullah Lone (Political Person), Zahid Hussain Jan (District President, Congress), S.S. Channi (Political Person), Raja Manzoor (Ex-MLA), Muzaffar Shah (General Secretary, Awami Conference), Bashir Ahmed Dar (Ex-MLA), Vikram Randhawa (Ex-MLC) (BJP Office), Haji Ab Rashid (Ex-MLA), Yasir Reshi (Ex-MLC), Abdul Rahim Rather (Ex-MLA, JKPDP), Mohammad Amin Bhat (Ex-MLA), Shoaib Nabi Lone (Ex-MLA) and Mohammad Abbas Wani (Ex-MLA).


Besides this, Senior AAG S.S. Nanda has also filed a status report as per the directions of the Division Bench dated 13th September, 2023 wherein the Deputy Director Estates, Jammu has submitted that the matter with regard to alternative accommodation/houses of 48 Politicians either in Jammu/Kashmir needs to be confirmed/verified from the occupants and for that purpose the Estates Department has written to all the persons (48) occupying accommodation for providing details as to whether they possess any alternate residential accommodation at Jammu or Srinagar. In its status report, the Estates Department sought more time for obtaining the details from the 48 occupants.


In the last hearing, the counsel for petitioner had highlighted before the Division Bench that the Estates Department has been selective in getting the government accommodation vacated from the ex-Legislators as for no valid reasons the Estates Department allotted government accommodation to 48 Politicians by using 5% discretionary quota as in terms of Regulation 4 of the Jammu and Kashmir Estates Department (Allotment of Government Accommodation) Regulations, 2004.


The Regulation 5 bars government accommodation to the persons who own or possess a house in the concerned city whether in proprietorship or lease or otherwise, whether by themselves or through their spouses, sons, unmarried daughters or parents.

The PIL was listed before a Division Bench comprising Chief Justice N. Kotiswar Singh and Justice Moksha Khajuria Kazmi (through virtual mode) but because of  the heavy schedule, the same could not be taken up for hearing.


The Northlines is an independent source on the Web for news, facts and figures relating to Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh and its neighbourhood.

Share post:


More like this

Shah Visited Kashmir To Direct BJP, Its ‘Proxies’ On Defeating National Conference: Omar Abdullah

SRINAGAR, May 18: Union home minister Amit Shah visited...

J&K | Stop Harassing People During Elections: Ghulam Nabi Azad

Srinagar, May 18: Democratic Progressive Azad Party (DPAP) Chairman...

Establish New Battalions Of NCC In Jammu And Kashmir: DG NCC

SRINAGAR, May 18: Director General National Cadet Corps (NCC)...

J&K | Restrictions Imposed Ahead Of Lok Sabha General Elections In Kupwara

J&K | Restrictions Imposed Ahead Of Lok Sabha General...