back to top
IndiaCong wins 3 RS seats in Rajasthan; BJP wins 3 in Karnataka

Cong wins 3 RS seats in Rajasthan; BJP wins 3 in Karnataka


Subhash Chandra loses, JD-S draws a blank

Northlines Newsdesk

New Delhi, June 10:

The ruling Congress Party on Friday won three of the four Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan, overcoming the challenge posed by Bharratiya Janata Party-backed independent candidate Subhash Chandra, according to the party.

The BJP got the fourth seat. Its candidate and former minister Ghanshyam Tiwari said he had also won, polling 43 votes.

Congress candidates Randeep Surjewala, Mukul Wasnik and Pramod Tiwari were elected to the Rajya Sabha, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot announced.

BJP candidate Ghanshyam Tiwari and other leaders of the party announced his victory in one seat.

The chief minister also thanked BJP MLA Shobharani Kushwah for cross-voting in favour of Congress candidate Pramod Tiwari.

The BJP has suspended Kushwah Shobharani from the party's primary membership.

In a similar situation, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party in Karnataka had the last laugh as it won all the three Rajya Sabha seats it had contested in, out of total of four from the state that went for polls on Friday, while the Congress managed to win only one of the two seats to which it had fielded its candidates.

The Janata Dal-Secular, which had fielded one candidate despite not having enough votes, failed to win any, as the Congress did not accept its request for support in the name of secularism.

Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, actor-politician Jaggesh, and outgoing MLC Lehar Singh Siroya of the BJP, and former Union minister Jairam Ramesh of the Congress were declared victorious by the poll officials after counting of votes.

Sitharaman and Ramesh have been re-elected from Karnataka to the Upper House of Parliament for a consecutive term after this election, for which members of the legislative assembly (MLAs) were the voters.

The Congress in Rajasthan got a total of 127 votes. One vote was rejected because of a minor issue.

All 200 Rajasthan MLAs had cast their votes for the Rajya Sabha elections by Friday afternoon.

In the House, the Congress has 108 MLAs, BJP 71, Independents 13, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) three, and the Communist Party of -Marxist and the Bharatiya Tribal Party (BTP) two each.

In Karnataka, there was suspense over the outcome of the contest for the fourth seat, which witnessed a tight contest among all the three political parties, as they had fielded candidates despite none of them having adequate number of votes to win it, and thereby forcing an election.

A total of six candidates were in the fray for the Rajya Sabha elections to the four seats from the state, necessitating a contest for the fourth one.


The Northlines is an independent source on the Web for news, facts and figures relating to Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh and its neighbourhood.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this

J&K | LG Sinha Addresses Seminar On National Education Policy 2020 At Ghazipur

Ghazipur (UP), Apr 23: Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha today...

Lok Sabha Elections | 5 More Candidates File Nominations For Srinagar Lok Sabha Seat

SRINAGAR, Apr 23: As the process for filing of...

PDP Has Become BJP’s C-Team, Says Omar Abdullah

Kokernag (J&K), Apr 23: The PDP has become the...

Only INDIA Bloc Govt can deliver vastly more inclusive economic growth: Cong

New Delhi, Apr 23: Stepping up its attack on...